Just in Chronicles

Life as a Voyage

Setting up Wildcard Mapping on IIS 7 with a Classic Mode

References:

After installing Windows 7 on my machine, I realised that Windows 7 has IIS 7 for web development. At the very first time, I thought IIS 7 wouldn’t be much different from IIS 5.1 or 6. Well, if I used Windows Vista at least once, I would never think like that.

The interface of IIS 7 has been totally changed, so I got in troubled with finding suitable configuration settings, especially “wildcard mapping”. The “Integrated Mode” of IIS 7 is not such worrying, but, for legacy ASP.NET 2.0 applications, “Classic Mode” of IIS 7 should be considered.

For IIS 5.1 or 6, the wildcard mapping is done in IIS configurations. However, for IIS 7, there is no wildcard mapping configuration for “Classic Mode”. Instead, just adding a handler into web.config file enables the web application to use wildcard mapping.

Written by Justin Yoo

17/01/2010 at 04:43

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Setting up Wildcard Mapping on IIS 7 with a Classic Mode http://ur.ly/3Vvd

    justinsays' me2DAY

    17/01/2010 at 04:51


Comments are closed.